Posted in Reviews

Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks @SimonSchusterCA @HeidiPerksBooks #BookBloggers #travelingsistersread #BookReview

Happy Publication Day to Heidi Perks!

Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks

Norma’s Review

Riveting, thought-provoking & affecting!

This was quite the emotional psychological thriller that immediately drew me in and had me totally glued to those pages for the entirety of reading this book. The storyline is one that I seem to be always drawn to and where this book deals with every parent’s worst nightmare, a missing child there is a nice twist to this one that definitely made this a different reading experience for me. The angst and devastation that you feel for these characters along with the pacing and short chapters made this an extremely palpable, fast and unputdownable read. 

HER ONE MISTAKE by HEIDI PERKS is a compelling, chilling, suspenseful, and a compulsive read that was an easy book to escape into that didn’t have too much darkness to it. The intensity level of this book gradually builds as the story progresses and there is also this subtle undertone of unease that makes you question what you are reading.

HEIDI PERKS delivers a character-driven, intriguing and well-written read here with complex and realistic characters, a uniquely written premise and an enthralling storyline. The story is told from dual perspectives between Charlotte and Harriet in an alternating timeline of “Now” and “Before” the disappearance of Alice with excerpts from Harriet’s diary. I thoroughly enjoyed the format of this story and both perspectives and timelines equally. I’m a total sucker when an author chooses to add in different writing devices to spice up the story so the diary excerpts definitely added a little extra excitement to the story for me. 

Norma’s Stats:
Cover: Worrisome, suspenseful and a fitting representation to storyline. Although I thought maybe the stuffed animal should have been a different character as was mentioned in the book a few times. Hmmm…..maybe I missed something?
Title: Appealing, suspenseful, intriguing and absolutely love how the title plays so fittingly into storyline. 
Writing/Prose: Well-written, engaging, captivating, and fluid. I thoroughly enjoyed this author’s writing style!
Plot: Unique, thought-provoking, suspenseful, gripping, perfectly-paced, absorbing, enjoyable and extremely entertaining. I found this storyline to be quite refreshing!
Ending: An absolutely perfect and plausible resolution that I was extremely satisfied with. 
Overall: An excellent read that had me totally entertained and engrossed from start to finish! Would highly recommend!

Thank you so much to Simon & Schuster Canada and Heidi Perks for gifting me a physical advance uncorrected proof to read. I thoroughly enjoyed the reading experience!

Goodreads Book Blurb:

What should have been a fun-filled, carefree day takes a tragic turn for the worse for one mother when her best friend’s child goes missing in this suspenseful, compulsively readable, and darkly twisted psychological thriller.

It all started at the school fair…

Charlotte was supposed to be looking after the children, and she swears she was. She only took her eyes off of them for one second. But when her three kids are all safe and sound at the school fair, and Alice, her best friend Harriet’s daughter, is nowhere to be found, Charlotte panics. Frantically searching everywhere, Charlotte knows she must find the courage to tell Harriet that her beloved only child is missing. And admit that she has only herself to blame.

Harriet, devastated by this unthinkable, unbearable loss, can no longer bring herself to speak to Charlotte again, much less trust her. Now more isolated than ever and struggling to keep her marriage afloat, Harriet believes nothing and no one. But as the police bear down on both women trying to piece together the puzzle of what happened to this little girl, dark secrets begin to surface—and Harriet discovers that confiding in Charlotte again may be the only thing that will reunite her with her daughter….

This breathless and fast-paced debut—perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Couple Next Door—takes you on a chilling journey that will keep you guessing until the very last page.

Have you read this one? Want to read it? Drop us a comment! We would love to hear from you!

14 thoughts on “Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks @SimonSchusterCA @HeidiPerksBooks #BookBloggers #travelingsistersread #BookReview

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.