Posted in Links That Caught Our Eye

Links To Reviews That Caught Our Eye Through Our Book Travels #travelingsistersread #travelingfriendsread #thetravelingbloggers #BookReview

Since so much of our blog is about sharing different views and reviews from the Traveling Sisters and the Traveling Friends Reading Group experiences,  we thought we would start a post sharing links to posts we have enjoyed along our book travels through the many blogs that we follow.   The idea to share links came from  Kaila The Traveling Inkwell.  Kaila was inspired by  Zuky @ BookBum and Novels and Nonfiction.

The reviews or posts that recently caught our eye.

On Our Book Travels

Our Traveling Sister Christina just started her blog Recipe and a Read with her first review that was a Traveling Friends group read.  Rust & Stardust by T. Greenwood

I love Dora’s post from Swift Coffee This Week’s Book Releases And Reviews – if you have one, say so and I’ll share it!.  I love it and what a great idea. Thank you for sharing one of our reviews.

What Cathy Reads posted some ideas for mixing up your reading that might help you get through your reading slump. Top Ten Tuesday: Books to Pull You Out of a Reading Slump

Beth and Janel’s buddy read and reviews for one of my favorite books.  The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid. Beth @ Bibiobeth    Janel @ Keeper of Pages

Norma is a cover girls and Lynne from Fictionophile post for Cover Love caught her eye.

I saw The Dutch Wife by Ellen Keith in the bookstore and bought it right away.  I was very intrigued.  I haven’t seen too many reviews for it.  I was glad when I saw Peg’s review from Write-Escape.  I now want to move this up my list to read.

Book Reviews by Shalini reviewed one of my all time favorite books that I read with both my sons so many years ago Good Night Moon

I have this title from EW.  It’s one I really want to read but just keeps getting buried deeper in the coulee with many other unread ARC.  So when I was at the bookstore.  My husband would really like to band me from there and here is why.  I bought the physical copy.  It was on sale.  How could I not?  Right?  Does anyone else do this?  Now that I have the physical book and after reading Eva’s review from Novel Deelights  for  Vox by Christina Dalcher I am bumping it up my list. Could be an upcoming Traveling Freinds group read.

Love Priyasha”s discusion post for Perks of being a Book Blogger

Cathy from Between the Lines reviewed The Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris

Cleopatra Loves Books post for Weekly Wrap Up (August 26)

What’s Non Fiction? review for Blue Nights, by Joan Didion

Reader Voracious post for Sentranced Saturaday

Books on the Book Shelf reviewed The Possible World by Liese O’halloran Schwarz

So many more we would like to add but I guess it’s time to continue our Travels throughout our day!!!  Be back next week for more links to reviews and posts that caught our eye!

Posted in The Sisters Recommend

The Sisters Recommend: Best Day Ever by @KairaRouda #travelingsistersread #BestDayEver #TheFavoriteDaughter #NetGalley

unnamed (2)

I recently did a post for a meme Top Ten Tuesday with the topic books to pull you out of a reading slump and I used some recommendations from some of the Traveling Sisters.  Susanne recommend Best Day Ever by Kaira Rouda.  Along my book travels I noticed that the paperback copy was released a few days ago so I quickly went to my local bookstore to take this photo for this post.

Norma read this a while back and loved it and recommended it to me to read but I was a little hesitant to read.  Paul Strom terrified me.  Than Susanne listened to it and tried to get Kaceey and I on board but I just kept pushing it aside. Really what was I thinking .  While finally Kaceey and I read it and were so glad we did.  We couldn’t believe we waited so long to read.  We loved it.  I highly recommend adding this one to your list to read right away.  Now it’s out in paperback with such a great cover really how can you resist.

Best Day Ever
Goodreads summary

I glance at my wife as she climbs into the passenger seat, and I am bursting with confidence. Today will be everything I’ve promised her…and more…

Paul Strom has the perfect life: a glittering career as an advertising executive, a beautiful wife, two healthy boys and a big house in a wealthy suburb. And he’s the perfect husband: breadwinner, protector, provider. That’s why he’s planned a romantic weekend for his wife, Mia, at their lake house, just the two of them. And he’s promised today will be the best day ever.

But as Paul and Mia drive out of the city and toward the countryside, a spike of tension begins to wedge itself between them and doubts start to arise. How much do they trust each other? And how perfect is their marriage, or any marriage, really?

Forcing us to ask ourselves just how well we know those who are closest to us, Best Day Ever crackles with dark energy, spinning ever tighter toward its shocking conclusion. In the bestselling, page-turning vein of The Couple Next Door and The Dinner, Kaira Rouda weaves a gripping, tautly suspenseful tale of deception and betrayal dark enough to destroy a marriage…or a life

Publication date: September 19, 2017

Paperback publication date: August 21, 2018

About the author

Kaira Rouda is a USA TODAY bestselling, multiple award-winning author of contemporary fiction exploring what goes on behind closed doors of seemingly perfect lives. Her next novel, BEST DAY EVER, is out September 19th.

She lives in Southern California with her family and is at work on her next novel. Connect with her on Twitter, Instagram and Pinterest: @KairaRouda; and on Facebook at Kaira Rouda Books.

If you’d like to host Kaira at your book club, in person or via Skype/Facetime, please reach out through her website KairaRouda.com

Norma’s review

BEST DAY EVER by KAIRA ROUDA is a dark, thrilling, and sinister tale of deception and betrayal that takes place over a 24-hr period and had me flipping those pages with anticipation and fascination finishing the book in less than 24-hrs.  I could not put this book down!

Okay, for the first part of this novel it takes a little while to get yourself into the book and into the mindset of the main character but as you read on you get the idea of what the author is trying to portray here.  It is definitely worth the read and it gets easier and better as the story progresses.

KAIRA ROUDA delivers a gripping and highly entertaining read here told from the first person point of view of our main character Paul Strom who is described as an unreliable narrator by the author.  He is narcissistic, arrogant, a womanizer, and a psychopath who is trying to have the Best Day Ever with his wife Mia.  The author does a wonderful job portraying the mindset of this character as he is so well-written you totally get into his head and you discover rather quickly that there is definitely something not quite right here.  Which will have you wondering why is this the best day ever and who is actually going to have the best day ever, Mia or Paul?

This character is not an easy one to read, I didn’t really like him very much as he has a horrible attitude and is really high on himself.  You might also get a little lost sometimes as he will just go off into an inner monologue with himself confusing you even more.  Once I figured out what was happening though then I found it rather easy to follow along with the storyline.

The ending was satisfying with all loose ends tied up neatly in a bow. This time around I really liked that the author chose to end the story that way as I needed clarification and closure.  I did find the book somewhat predictable at times but there were a few little twists along the way to keep me interested enough throughout and I was totally curious in how this was all going to play out.  Would recommend!

Taken from our Traveling Sisters Goodreads reviews.

From Susanne’s review

I listened to the audiobook of “Best Day Ever” and it captured my attention from the first sentence. It was completely gripping and was in fact the best audiobook I have listened to in 2017. Kudos to the narrator, Graham Halstead for bringing Paul Strom to life. This is a book that I highly recommend. It is extremely entertaining, full of lots of crazy twists and well, it was totally wicked, in the Best Way Ever.

From Kaceey’s review

Oh my gosh! Paul is the perfect leading character you will just love to hate! I can’t say anymore…you’ll just have to read it yourself! The book is delightfully different and so well done! Not your typical domestic thriller! I blazed through this one in two sittings!

If you’ve already read this one…wasn’t it great?!
If you haven’t, I recommend you put this one on your list!

From Marialyce’s review

Certainly unnerving, Paul is the ultimate villain. He has everything, manipulates everything, and as all psychopaths do, regrets nothing. Mia seems to be his pawn.

From Suzy’s review

Well, THAT was interesting! While reading the first 100 pages of this book, I was getting annoyed – mainly because I was expecting more than I was getting. Not a lot going on. Little did I realize it was all part of a slow build up to an explosion of a story! After I quickly understood Rouda’s intentions, I finished the remaining 242 pages in just a few hours. Suspense GALORE people! Kudos to Rouda for doing a fabulous job in creating Paul’s character. The most delusional, narcissistic psycho I have ever read. Man, this dude is a piece of work. You can’t help but be 100% repulsed by him from the get go.

From Carol’s review

It is brilliantly told and Paul is an excellent character. I was completely captivated by the novel and finished it fast.

Overall, I loved the novel and highly recommend it to readers of thrillers and contemporary fiction. I look forward to the author’s next book.

Kaira Rouda has another book coming out!!!  While browsing on NetGalley Norma and I found The Favorite Daughter and did a little dance in our coulee and quickly requested and were approved.  We are so intrigued by the summary and can’t wait to read this one

Expected publication: February 19, 2019 by Graydon House

Goodreads summary for The Favorite Daughter

From the author of the page-turning domestic suspense Best Day Ever, comes another gripping novel of psychological suspense set in an upscale Southern California community, for fans of B.A. Paris and Shari Lapena.

The perfect home. The perfect family. The perfect lie.

Jane Harris lives in a sparkling home in an oceanfront gated community in Orange County. It’s a place that seems too beautiful to be touched by sadness. But exactly one year ago, Jane’s oldest daughter, Mary, died in a tragic accident and Jane has been grief-stricken ever since. Lost in a haze of anti-depressants, she’s barely even left the house. Now that’s all about to change.

It’s time for Jane to reclaim her life and her family. Jane’s husband, David, has planned a memorial service for Mary and three days later, their youngest daughter, Betsy, graduates high school. Yet as Jane reemerges into the world, it’s clear her family has changed without her. Her husband has been working long days—and nights—at the office. Her daughter seems distant, even secretive. And her beloved Mary was always such a good girl—dutiful and loving. But does someone know more about Mary, and about her last day, than they’ve revealed?

The bonds between mothers and daughters, and husbands and wives should never be broken. But you never know how far someone will go to keep a family together…

Have you read The Best Day Ever?  Want to read it?  Are you excited and intrigued by The Favorite Daughter.  Drop us a comment!  We would love to hear from you!